Table problems...

Brian835

Pinball Nudger
Reaction score
Favorite Pinball Machine
Centaur
Greetings all! New to the forum. Some background for you all... I was a pinball tech 20 years ago, so naturally this site is a must :-)

I had these emulators years ago on a pc that is long gone, and just sort of forgot about how great and fun these recreations really are!

Now to the problems. I can download tables, open them in the editor, but when I go to play them I get dll. errors etc etc. I was using Vis 9.11... is that part of the problem? Also running Win7...

What is the best emulator to run 80's-90's tables? Are there patches to correct these problems?

Any feedback is welcome!

Brian

Have you downloaded FreeImage.dll? 9.1.2 requires it, and I think 9.1.1 does, as well.

Did you install the full version of Visual Pinball912? If so, then the FreeImage.dll should have been installed.

Visual Pinball will not open at all without the FreeImage.dll, so that's not the problem.

Have you downloaded and installed VPinMame by unzipping it to a New Folder (you need to create the folder) and then run the Setup.exe from the folder? It is good practice to Rename the New Folder to VPinMame so you can find it easily.
Remember, VPinMame is a separate program installation from Visual Pinball, unless yo use one of the Install kits which installs both Visual Pinball and VPinMame.

Have you downloaded and Unzipped the .VBS files to the Tables folder?

Have you downloaded the ROM.zip for the table?
You can find the specific ROM.zip for each table at www.ipdb.org by the name of the machine. Download the PINMAME version and puit it in the Roms folder created by the VPinMame Setup.exe > Install. Keep thois ROM.zip file ZIPPED!

Your best bet for the necessary downloads is at www.vpforums.org at the top of the page Visual Pinball > Essential Files.

Last edited: