Pop Bumper Pete

Pinball Pirate
Site Supporters
Solutions
Reaction score
Favorite Pinball Machine
White Water
I realized today that I have been collecting pinball machines now for 40 years
the first game I bought was Sure Shot, the local arcade were selling off all their Gottlieb EM’s, $100 bought you a single player, $120 for a two person player.
this was followed two years later with an The Empire Strikes Back
my first DMD, Creature From the Black Lagoon, in 2004
First NIB, Batman TDK, in 2008

Still enjoy playing

Sure Shot looks like a pseudo-modern layout, in that you can hit a bunch of things directly from the bottom flippers. Is there an FP or VPX version you like?

Me, I'm still kind of bummed I lost my three EM's in the mid-90's. Life was too chaotic for me to keep them those days, but if it was somehow possible, I'd love to have one of them magically transported to my current residence. Probably it would be "Atlantis," which I was able to cut my teeth on, repair-wise.

Before I lost that machine, I was bumblingly going about creating a custom backglass to replace the one all flaked off. It was going to center around an image of a mermaid rising from the depths. I.e., Kirsten Imrie. <NSFW PIC>

Last edited:
Sure Shot looks like a pseudo-modern layout, in that you can hit a bunch of things directly from the bottom flippers. Is there an FP or VPX version you like?
back when i was playing VP, i never played a recreation of a game i owned
why play a recreation when you have the real thing?
i did use VP tables to try games i was thinking of buying, get to hear the sounds, get to know the layout

Well, both sims have come a long way since the 'good ol' days.'

For me it's a lot of fun to see the many physics improvements. The fact that VPX now properly simulates both the shooting and resting coil in a flipper. The way the flipper can get knocked back slightly by the ball. The way DF2 physics in FP-BAM are now simulating drop catches & hot catches, etc.