Gottlieb Solved Mars God of War (Gottlieb, 1981) problems

Gr8snook09

Pinball Nudger
Reaction score
Favorite Pinball Machine
Mars God of War
Hello. I recently bought a neglected Mars God of War. When I got it nothing worked except the score displays lit up. After simple cleaning and checking connectors everything worked! Sound, speech, scoring, flippers and pop bumpers...everything. It was all scoring correctly as well. Recently out of the blue all of the non solenoid related switches that are behind playfield rubbers quit working or generating sound. All other switches work and score fine. Then today the speech is slow and all other sounds are barely audible no matter what the pot settings are. The only thing I did today was replace the Orange cap in the bottom of the cabinet. I'm brand new to system 80 pins so I'm pretty clueless. Any ideas ?? Oh. I did a speech test and it ran through everything and at the end it kept saying "sixteen". Also did a system test via the coin door and it brought up "5101" in the player one display. Thanks guys !

Solution
since you are looking for a shorted transistor you can test it in circuit. set your MM for a resistance Rx1 setting and put the test leads on two transistor wires , then change the leads to different wire combinations. a zero resistance reading is any combination is a shorted transistor. if your MM has a diode beeb setting that could be used also. a beeb sound is usually a short. a good transistor will have 2 low resistance readings (called junctions) in 2 different test lead combinations. you can also check your readings against the same kind of transistor next to it.
the 5101 code is usually a battery failure code or the 5101 chip might be bad. does the CPU have its orig. battery still installed on the board? does the CPU board have any battery leakage damage? if it has a remote battery pack , have you changed the batteries yet? batteries that are almost dead will cause all kinds of problems.