Bally Old Chicago (Bally, 1976) weak flippers and pop bumpers

sprig100

Pinball Nudger
Reaction score
Favorite Pinball Machine
old chicago(all i've got)
I recently did a flipper overhaul on my Old Chicago and they kicked A** afterwards. 2-3 weeks later they seem very "sluggish" and weak. Some of the pop bumpers have lost their umpf also. I changed the coil in the worst one but it made no difference. Any ideas? I'm far from an expert but everything looks ok to me. Where should I start looking?

my guess is that the 2 hole kicker solenoids work fine. thats because they get their power from before the tilt relay and game over latch/trip relay. the dc thumper bumpers and the flipper coils get their power after those 2 relays. example if the ball goes into one of those holes during tilt it needs to be kicked out. so the switches that control the playfield power on those 2 relays and possibly the reset relay depending on machine need to be checked for pitted contacts and correct points gap. pitted contacts due to arcing can cause a voltage drop and lower the voltage to the coils. lightly file clean switches if needed. oxidized connections on the playfield jones plugs may also cause a voltage drop. transformer and solenoid fuse connections should also be checked.

Hi
I havn't had time to get into it but some of the bumpers work fine, and I think the kickers are OK. Maybe slightly weak. I assume the relays you mentioned are located in the bottom of the cabinet? Luckily, after almost 40 years the machine still has all of the marking tags for the relays. Hopefully I have some time this weekend. Thanks

how much voltage should I be seeing at the flipper and pop bumper coils? Can i check voltage at the pop bumper switch and the flipper button on the cabinet? I measured about 75 v at the pop bumper switches. Correct? Thanks