Williams Solved Super-Flite (Williams, 1974) bonus issue

Heater63

Pinball Player
Reaction score
Favorite Pinball Machine
Superflite
Newbie here, would appreciate a pointer or two if this is obvious, as I struggle with schematics so far.
@pinballdeveh
decades of playing, good with soldering and basic EM, but my first EM ownership/repair.
'74 WM Superflite (2 player)
Cleaned steppers and score reels, fixed a few bad solder points and rewound a flipper coil, .
Everything is now working except for proper single bonus and resetting.
If the Double or Triple bonus is activated, the downhole works, correct bonus is applied (stepped down), and next ball ejected. However, if only single bonus, stepper steps down when downhole trips, but score reel continues to run and ball is not ejected. If you then manually trigger a double bonus, it works and play can continue.
Ideas of where to look would be appreciated.

-Tad

Last edited by a moderator:
Solution
Looking with fresh eyes at the my game operation, I just realized I mispoke describing the bonus unit stepping down. I said "single bonus, stepper steps down..." That was wrong. The bonus stepper is NOT counting down on a single bonus, only if the double or triple bonus is activated. When my outhole switch is activated, the score motor runs, but if on single bonus, the bonus unit is not stepping down and adding points, and the machine stays hung with the score motor running. However, if you then activate either double or triple bonus, the bonus unit does then count down and resets, score reels are adding points, ball count advances, and ball is ejected and play continues or game ends.
Thank you for rechecking the info.
A...
Doesn't look like @pinballdaveh properly registered, above.

Text-spacing issues, perhaps?
It sounds like the bonus to outhole transfer isn’t working correctly.
I hope the info is helpful and understandable.
After the ball is played, the ball drains into the outhole.