Williams Solved Comet (Williams, 1985) start button problem

pinfitness

Inserted Coin
Reaction score
Favorite Pinball Machine
Still deciding
I am new to the pinball ownership world and seem to be far less competent than most on this site. I recently purchased a Comet and have been having a great time playing it. It is set to free play and would have problems starting a new game after a match. Now the start button doesn't work at all. It powers on and within about 2 seconds I hear a click and the audio stops. The playfield lights continue to work, however. Something is telling the machine not to respond to pressing the start button. Any ideas on a simple fix or at least enlightening me so I don't appear clueless to a repair guy. Thanks, in advance, for any help.

Solution
It was an intermittent problem. I first checked the circuits by connecting a jumper wire from J207 pin 1 to J209 pin 3, to simulate the start button contact. It would start, so I knew the problem was somewhere on this side of the connection (including the connection itself). Re-seating the connector J212 corrected it, but I am sure it will eventually reoccur, but may take some time.
First place to check would be the start button switch itself. It could be dirty or bad altogether. If you power down the game, then pull up the playfield, you'll see the switch.
First, push the button in and visually verify that the switch leads make contact with each other when the button is pressed.

if it doesn't, gently bend the innermost lead (the one farthest from the actual button.) towards the other. Be sure they do not touch when the button is not being pressed. Close the game and try again.

If it does make good contact, take a stiff white credit card, fold it in half, and run it between the leafs of the switch while lightly pressing them together. Move the card around and it will scrape the inside of the leads and clean them. Once that's done, close up the game and try again.