Bally EM Bow and Arrow (Bally, 1975) Need help with EM credit step up/down not working

Electro-Mechanical Machines

dagger

Pinball Nudger
Reaction score
Favorite Pinball Machine
Bally Bow and Arrow
Hi all,
I'm new to Pinball Nirvana and restoring a 1970's era Bally Bow and Arrow. Started with a unit that had multiple issues including broken relays, lights, and whole host of other things. Last month I was able to get all of the play field components working for a single player but things worked really well including dropping coins would add credits and starting play would use credits.

Most recently I got the multi-player working by cleaning the player units. But after getting that working ,the 100k latch / triggers didn't work right and would light up on reset if the 10000 digit was non-zero for that player. Cleaned the score relay contacts for stacks 3 and 7 as these are what showed on the schematics and that is now working. The schematics can be found at: https://pinballaustralia.com/PDF/Bally_1975_Bow_and_Arrow_Service_Manual.pdf

I'm at the point where all play field / bonus components work really well. Scoring works correctly for all players and unit resets consistently. My issue is that the credit step-up and step-down does not happen when the coin microswitches are triggered or play button is pressed. Here's what happens:
  1. When playing a game the credit steps up correctly when you reach 71000 points or other extra game bonus features
  2. Dropping in a coin activates the 2nd Coin Chute Relay but no resets or other actions occur
  3. I can hold the coin drop micro switch and the 2nd Coin Chute Relay activates and holds with no other action
  4. If I manually press the 2nd Coin Chute Relay with my finger it does trigger the score motor and depending on how long I hold it it will add credits.
  5. I've cleaned the contacts on the 2nd Coin Chute Relay with a burnisher