Vortex (Taito, 1981) VP9

VP9 Taito SS Recreation Vortex (Taito, 1981) VP9 v1.5

No permission to download
Solid State Machines
Thanks for giving VP9 some love ! Great stuff , pal

yeah, vp9 was good. there was nothing wrong with it that could not be fixed.
why didnt the dev team go into the C++ program and fix the bugs then keep improving on it instead of starting with a new VPX
program?
i usually play my vp9xx in 912.
what version DTexec was it updated to or does it matter?
maybe some of the more experienced wizards here could show a little love for VP9 and take a look at the program and try to
fix the bugs in the lower slings.
this was the only bug i could find with VP9.

Last edited:
Yep,while I understand VPX allows more advaced gfx and stuff , and able to do super accurate physics and so on , the toll average pinball lover has to pay is way too much

I'm not a programmer or anything but I always thought the devs could use some more time optimizing the code and make it more accessible to everyone

My current rig runs on a i3 laptop with 8gb ram , everything up to VP9.9 & PhysMod runs silky smooth with eveything maxed antialiasing and stuff , but even a simple VPX6 table stutters with the lowest settings (ironically VP9 maxed looks far better than VPX at low setting)

Wish someone with enough skill would give VP9 a touch and fix remaining bugs and give it a possible facelift but definitely not holding my breath for it

Maintaining legacy software is a pain. Every software house will eventually stop and start fresh at some point.
I call old stuff, "pet cancer" and it's nothing but trouble.

There's absolutely NO reason to maintain old software. Imagine if we were still using DOS or worse... Windows ME :D

Like one manufacturer once told me regarding a problem in one of their old requirements: "buy more memory or upgrade" (hint: memory would be more expensive).