Bally Space Invaders (Bally, 1980) Many problems

randygg58

Pinball Nudger
Reaction score
Favorite Pinball Machine
space invaders
Trying to help a friend get their machine working. Here are the problems so far:

~Sometimes when turning the machine on things like the flippers work, other times they do not. Generally if you turn the machine off and on a few times they will work.

~Green LED on MPU stays on solid, doesn't flash. Did once, but doesn't now.

~Won't go into the test mode.

There are other problems but want to start with these. I'm new to pinball machines. I work on slot machines.

:welcome1: it sounds like the MPU has problems. the problem could be anything from battery corrosion to bad chip sockets to bad parts. if you have board repair experience check out flipperwinkel bally repair for troubleshooting details. if not check out alltek replacement boards for a new MPU board.

That is what I was afraid of. he paid $800 for this machine because he really wanted one. He just doesn't have the money to shell out the $350 or whatever it is for a new one.

The game is a Bally Space Invaders machine.

the alltek MPU will cost about $200. buy one new from a vendor. buying the same kind of original MPU on ebay is a gamble even if they say its 100% working and tested. those boards are pulled from machines that have been replaced with a new board and the people are trying to recoop some of the money spent on a new board. why replace a original MPU if its working well? even if you find a working old original MPU , you still have proper jumper locations and rom chip swap over to deal with on a already 40 year old board. the 2 bally driver boards are single foil sided and dont have chip sockets to go bad so they are more reliable , unlike the original MPU board.

Ok so I took a closer look and the battery on the MPU was corroded along with the leads. Is it possible to replace this battery and leads?